My (Very) Brief Thoughts On Sopranos, Grindhouse, And Other Random Stuff

Jeepers, I suck. I’ve been neglecting this blog like crazy lately. I’m going to start work on another mega-article like the LOST Vs. Heroes Vs. Battlestar Galactica piece, but until then I’ll just comment on a few things that I’ve seen lately:

sop.jpg

I thought the first two of the “final nine” episodes of The Sopranos were both excellent. The first episode back wasn’t very eventful but it was a really nice character study and I think some big seeds were planted when Bobby’s first hit managed to tear a piece of his shirt off (DNA evidence anyone?). The second episode was jam-packed with lots of different things going on. We saw the hilarious premiere of Christopher’s mob/horror film “Cleaver”, more in-fighting with the New York crew, and the death of Johnny Sack. It’s going to be fascinating watching how the Christopher/Tony dynamic is going to play out over these last few episodes. I still think Christopher is destined to be fitted for some cement shoes. The second show also featured one of the greatest Chrissy quotes of all-time: “Issac Newton invented gravity because some asshole threw an apple at his head!” Classic.

I never got around to posting a full review of Grindhouse, and I apologize for that. Overall I thought Robert Rodriguez’ portion, Planet Terror was a total blast. The audience was completely into the over-the-top violence and gore as well as the tongue-in-cheek humor. Everyone was laughing and shrieking with delight. All of the fake trailers were fantastic, and The old-school drive-in ads and lead-ins were great too.

planet-terror-1.jpg

Then, Tarantino’s Death Proof started up and absolutely deflated the audience. I’m not sure if it was just because I attended a midnight showing and the crowd was getting tired, but you could hear a pin drop in the damned place. I love Tarantino’s films and I know a lot of die-hard Tarantino fans are defending the artistic merit of four women sitting around spouting page after page of verbose, inconsequential dialogue, but boring is boring in my book. Quentin, Death Proof was fucking BORING. Sorry, dude.

So far I am really impressed with Marvel films and their casting decisions. Their first production, Iron Man, has an incredible cast with Robert Downey Jr. in the lead role. Now they’ve gone out and signed up one of the most underrated actors working in Hollywood today, Ed Norton, to star in The Incredible Hulk. I’m really looking forward to his portrayal of Bruce Banner. In a fair world he would’ve played Daredevil, too.

Finally, just to touch on those Sam Raimi/The Hobbit rumors, I think if anyone not named Peter Jackson could pull this adaptation off, it would be Raimi. That having been said, I’d like to see him stick with the Spider-Man films because he is the heart and soul of that franchise.

Oh, and one more thing… looks like the fourth Indy film has a title: “Indiana Jones and the City of Gods”. Hmmm….I’m thinking Ancient Greece?

Leave a Reply

